New York, New York!!!

So nice they named it twice. So nice I have to ignore my imagined NDE and run it twice!! Just got word this week that I’ve been selected to run the TCS NYC Marathon again in 2017!

I know that I said I was done with marathons after last years NYC (see my Everybody Hurts post), but I was too dissatisfied with the way it turned out for that to be my sole stab at it. I entered the lottery again this year thinking I would be happy with either outcome. On Thursday I saw some posts from folks saying that their CCs had been charged and that they were in for 2017. I went to my account to see if I had a charge from NYRR but I did not. I must admit I was a little disappointed. Later that afternoon I got an alert that my card had been charged – I was going back!!! My whole world got a bit brighter.

This time will be the true test: can I change my approach and get better results than last year when I finished in a dismal 4:51, complete with several walk breaks at the end? Or will I learn that I just can’t run marathons, even though I run a half marathon virtually every weekend? I should be better prepared  just for having done it once already – and I’ll find a different training plan since I felt that last year’s plan mostly trained me to run slow – and I sure did. Left to my own devices I would probably just keep lengthening my long run every weekend until I am running 22, 23 miles as fast as I comfortably can  – that is how I began last year’s training and got up to 17 miles at an 8:30-9:00 clip before I started with the NYRR 16 week plan. But something tells me that’s probably not a great approach so I’ll investigate other plans.

Anyone have a marathon training plan they really liked? 625341_243169403_xlarge

This was me really bringin’ it towards the end of last year’s TCS NYC Marathon.

One thought on “New York, New York!!!

  1. I’m super behind on reading all of my blogs so apologies for a comment 2 weeks post publication. Congrats on getting into the NYC marathon! I finished last year’s with a 4:48:49, but I was happy with that time. My goal was to finish it within 5 hours and not die. 🙂 Good luck training for this year’s race!

    Like

Leave a Reply

