Jingle All The Way

So a couple of weeks ago I started my “happy holiday” season by running the Birmingham edition of the Arthritis Foundation Jingle Bell run, a mere 5k jaunt through the streets of the Magic City. Finished in 23:35 and nabbed third place in my old man age group. Similar to my performance last year, so I started the holidays happy-ish with my last race of the year.

Why not just happy?  Well I’m probably nit-picking but it was 22 seconds longer than last year, 7 extra seconds per mile. That’s enough time for Santa to exhort all 8 reindeer to get their tails moving every mile. Now Dasher! Now Dancer! Now, Prancer and Vixen! On, Comet! On, Cupid! On, Donner and Blitzen! By mile 3 the 2015 me could practically recite “Twas The Night Before Christmas” in its entirety waiting for 2016 me. That seems like a loooooong time.

I am still struggling to regain my speed post marathon training, and I’m growing concerned I won’t get it back. Maybe it is just inevitable decline but my weight continues to hover in the +5 lbs range versus last year and whether it is just psychological or a real thing I feel the extra weight is part of the problem. And something tells me losing the weight is not a realistic goal over the next week or so. Christmas cookies and chocolates, “7 fishes” (most of which are fried), marzipan pigs, home baked banana breads, big holiday meals –  I’ll need to run a lot of extra miles just to break even.

Fortunately New Year’s day is coming and I can use that occasion to commit to dropping the weight and running faster in 2017. I am already committed to running the Mercedes Half Marathon in February and the United Airlines NYC Half Marathon in March, and I am hoping to get back to the 8:13 range for both.

In the meantime let’s all have a happy holiday. Let’s not worry about what we eat. And let’s run some fun races in the new yearjinglke

One thought on “Jingle All The Way

Leave a Reply

