Senioritis

Today I enter into my senior year in my running age group, the only one I’ve ever known since I started running 3 1/2 years ago. I celebrated with my 30th half marathon (or more) of 2016. I felt good, but I continue to run at the  slow paces I learned during my training for the NYC marathon. Today was 8:53 per mile, and the 8:13 I ran in the NYC Half Marathon in March (before I did any type of training) seems like a distant memory. I ran the Magic City half marathon 2 weeks ago at 8:36 per mile, 24 seconds slower per mile than last year when I finished 3rd in my class.

So here is my quandary: should I continue to try and fight to get my pace back to where it was here in my senior year, or should I do like all seniors do and goof off, then begin the hard work again next year when I will be among the youngest in my class and placing in my age group should get easier again?

 

 

Leave a Reply

